Contact

What is Social Proof?

Social Proof is a phenomenon where customers take over the (buying) actions of other people. From a psychological point of view, the customer perceives the (social) "proof" that if other people decide to buy certain products or services, this decision must also be good for himself.

  • Role models can be the masses or even individuals
  • lowers the barriers, especially when shopping on the Internet
  • Conveys credibility, competence and trust

Social Proof influences purchase decisions enormously

In social proofing, the famous follow-through effect is at work, because imitators assume that the actions of the broad masses or individuals reflect appropriate behaviour. This makes Social Proof also an important basis of online marketing. The role model effect can come from experts, celebrities, authorities, groups of friends or a very large group of buyers. The behaviour - hence the term - that other buyers display is considered socially proven. The customer trusts these people in their purchasing decisions. In the case of a social proof, no matter what form it takes, it is objectively not certain whether the imitated action is advantageous or disadvantageous for the consumer. In marketing and especially in online marketing, the principle of the social proof is of great importance. For example, potential customers like to inform themselves about the ratings of products on major sales portals. They also often let themselves be convinced by so-called influencers and other authorities of services or products. On social media platforms, for example, the number of likes etc. influences the perception of the customers. Especially on the Internet, the upcoming purchase decision is therefore mainly made via external orientation. Companies are constantly present via social media and customer feedback is easier to see than ever before. For marketers there are many more ways to make the phenomenon of social proof work for the user. Highly visible test results or numbers of subscribers, followers and shares can lead potential customers to make a purchase decision. But also positively rated websites, which appear during the search, lead to clicks and purchases

Social Proof helps increase conversion rate

In principle, all (positive) statements about ones own company or product are testimonies of the social proof. It is a statement of support that testifies that a certain service or product is good and that previous buyers have been very satisfied with it. The mere existence of elements of the Social Proof makes companies more trustworthy, because the feedback comes from the consumers and not from the company itself. Field reports or testimonials are a particularly good form of social proof and help to increase the conversion rate. Especially when shopping online, the social proof increases the trust of other customers. When shopping in online shops, you feel much more comfortable if you know that other buyers have bought before you and have had positive experiences. This is why it is so important for companies to integrate social proofing into their marketing presence. This can be done in a variety of ways, including customer reviews, social proof in social media, confidence-inspiring icons on websites, case studies, endorsements by opinion leaders / celebrities or earned media. As a rule, the more people found the product good, the better. This can be shown on the website e.g. by information on downloads, number of units sold so far, number of hits, by observers and star ratings. In principle, social proofing measures enable companies to use the voice of the consumer for new customer acquisition - existing customers become brand ambassadors.

Back to Overview Next Article

Kontakt

Was ist Social Proof?

Social Proof ist ein Phänomen, bei dem Kunden die (Kauf-) Handlungen anderer Personen übernehmen. Der Kunde nimmt dabei psychologisch gesehen den (sozialen) "Beweis" wahr, dass wenn sich andere Personen für bestimmte Produkte oder Dienstleistungen entscheiden, diese Entscheidung auch für ihn selbst gut sein muss.

  • Vorbilder können die Masse oder auch Einzelpersonen sein
  • Senkt die Hürden vor allem bei Einkäufen im Internet
  • Vermittelt Glaubwürdigkeit, Kompetenz und Vertrauen

Social Proof beeinflusst die Kaufentscheidungen enorm

Beim Social Proof greift der berühmte "Mitläufereffekt", denn die Nachahmer nehmen an, dass die Handlungen der breiten Masse oder einzelner Personen ein angemessenes Verhalten widerspiegeln. Damit wird Social Proof auch zu einer wichtigen Grundlage des Online Marketing. Die Vorbildwirkung kann dabei von Fach-Experten, Prominenten, Autoritäten, Freundesgruppen oder einer sehr großen Käuferschaft ausgehen. Als sozial bewährt wird dasjenige Verhalten betrachtet - daher der Begriff - welches andere Käufer an den Tag legen. Dabei vertraut der Kunde diesen Personen in ihren Kaufentscheidungen. Beim Social Proof, ganz gleich welcher Ausformung, steht objektiv nicht fest, ob die nachgeahmte Handlung für den Konsumenten vorteil- oder nachteilhaft ist. Im Marketing und insbesondere im Online Marketing hat das Wirkungsprinzip des Social Proof eine große Bedeutung. Beispielsweise informieren sich gern potenzielle Kunden über die Bewertungen von Produkten auf großen Verkaufsportalen. Außerdem lassen sie sich oftmals von sogenannten Influencern und anderen Autoritäten von Dienstleistungen oder Produkten überzeugen. Auf Social Media Plattformen beeinflussen z. B. die Menge an Likes etc. die Wahrnehmung der Kunden. Gerade im Internet wird also die anstehende Kaufentscheidung vorwiegend über Fremdorientierung getroffen. Über soziale Medien sind die Unternehmen ständig präsent und Kundenfeedback ist leichter einzusehen als jemals zuvor. Für die Marketer stehen noch viele weitere Wege zur Verfügung, um das Phänomen Social Proof beim Nutzer wirken zu lassen. Gut sichtbare Testergebnisse oder Anzahlen von Abonnenten, Followern und Shares können potenzielle Kunden zu einer Kaufentscheidung bringen. Aber auch positiv bewertete Websites, die bei der Suche auftauchen, führen zu Klicks und Käufen.

Social Proof hilft die Conversion Rate zu steigern

Im Prinzip sind sämtliche (positiven) Aussagen über das eigene Unternehmen oder Produkt Zeugnisse des Social Proofs. Es handelt sich um eine Unterstützungserklärung, die bezeugt, dass ein bestimmter Service oder ein spezielles Produkt gut ist und bisherige Käufer sehr damit zufrieden waren. Bereits die bloße Existenz von Elementen des Social Proof machen Unternehmen vertrauenswürdiger, weil das Feedback von den Konsumenten und nicht von der Firma selbst stammt. Erfahrungsberichte bzw. Testimonials sind eine besonders gute Form von Social Proof und helfen die Conversion Rate zu steigern. Denn gerade beim Onlineshoppen verstärkt der Social Proof das Vertrauen anderer Kunden. Man fühlt sich beim Einkaufen in Online Shops deutlich wohler, wenn man weiß , dass andere Käufer vor einem gekauft und positive Erfahrungen dabei gemacht haben. Darum ist es für Unternehmen so wichtig, Social Proof in ihre Marketingpräsenz zu integrieren. Dabei kann aus einer Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten geschöpft werden, darunter Kundenbewertungen, Social Proof in Social Media, vertrauenerweckende Symbole auf Webseiten, Fallstudien, Endorsements durch Meinungsmacher / Prominente oder Earned Media. In der Regel gilt: Je mehr Personen das Produkt gut fanden, desto besser. Dies kann auf der Website z. B. durch die Angaben von Downloads, bislang verkauften Stückzahlen, der Anzahl von Aufrufen, von Beobachter und Sternebewertungen gezeigt werden. Im Prinzip werden durch Social Proof Maßnahmen Unternehmen in die Lage versetzt, die Stimme der Konsumenten für Neukunden-Akquise zu verwenden - bestehende Kunden werden also zu Markenbotschaftern.

Zur Übersicht Nächster Artikel