Startseite » Targeting

What is Targeting?

Targeting is part of online marketing and plays an important role especially in the areas of SEA and display advertising. Targeting (target = aim) is an attempt to direct the advertising as precisely as possible towards customers or target groups. This targeting is intended to avoid large scattering losses
  • Advertising campaigns should fit the users as precisely as possible
  • Increases the probability of conversions and reduces wastage
  • Important for SEA, display advertising and SEO

How targeting works

First of all an exact target group definition must be made before each targeting. If the addressees of the advertising messages cannot be clearly determined, the targeting of these messages cannot develop its full effect. Targeting can be carried out all the more finely and precisely, the more precisely the corresponding target group is captured. After this determination and analysis, the appropriate marketing action and its optimisation can be carried out. Online targeting was usually based on the use of cookies, but recently other forms of user tagging have been added. Based on this information, the user can be shown the appropriate advertising messages. In the meantime, about a dozen different forms of targeting have become established. Content Targeting or Contextual Targeting, for example, is common. Here, the type of advertising shown depends on the topic and certain terms of the page content. If an article is about a certain product, the advertiser can also place the appropriate banners with purchase incentives in relation to such or similar products. Semantic targeting goes one step further. In this type of targeting, software analyses the meaning of the content. Not only keywords, but complete contexts of meaning are helpful here. Keyword targeting, on the other hand, is simply a matter of previously defined keywords that trigger a corresponding advertisement. In addition, socio-demographic targeting can also be carried out. With this form of targeting, the ads are aligned to the social environment and demographic criteria such as age, gender or status of the target group. The data is usually taken from surveys or advertising networks

Other common forms of targeting

Behavioral Targeting is about the behavior of the user himself. A target-group-specific placement of advertisements here draws on as many individual aspects as possible to create a meaningful profile for the respective user behaviour. The operating systems used or the geographical location of the customer can play a role in the orientation of the advertisement. With so-called predictive behavioural targeting, an attempt is even made to predict user behaviour. Retargeting is a special form of targeting, which targets customers who have not (yet) carried out a certain interaction in an online shop or on a page. We find social media targeting for example in Facebook advertising. Here, advertisers are in a good position to align their target groups based on profile data of users of a social network. Geotargeting is aimed at users in a specific geographical region. The type of advertisements or the target group address is therefore based on the position of the user, which is determined e.g. by the IP address. The technical targeting includes information on the operating system or software used. This makes it possible to deliver display banners in different versions (e.g. Flash or not). In any case, the advertising is therefore targeted as closely as possible to the target group. Of course, there are also limits to targeting. On the one hand, users can feel unsettled by certain insertions, as they often can hardly explain why they are shown such banners etc. Therefore, advertisers should always be aware of the limit when advertising is no longer seen as appealing but rather as annoying, so that no contrary effects are achieved. Caution should be exercised in particular with regard to keyword targeting, as it is particularly easy to achieve unsuccessful and inappropriate targeting here. Misinterpretations, e.g. of user behaviour, are of course always possible and pose a certain risk. For SEOs, targeting is also a very important discipline to prepare content for the target group. If the whole thing is approached correctly and effectively, then the click through rate can be increased and at the same time the bounce rate can be lowered. After all, these parameters are relevant for the search engines ranking.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Was ist Targeting? Online-Marketing Lexikon | RH-Webdesign
info@rh-webdesign.com
  • flexible Projektfinanzierung
  • individuelle Websites
  • individuelle Online-Shops
  • Zertifizierter Lightspeed-Partner

Was ist Targeting?

Targeting gehört zum Online Marketing und spielt vor allem in den Bereichen SEA und Display Werbung eine große Rolle. Durch das Targeting (target = Ziel) wird versucht, die Werbung so präzise wie nur möglich auf Kunden bzw. Zielgruppen auszurichten. So sollen durch diese Zielgruppenansprache große Streuverluste vermieden werden.

  • Werbekampagnen sollen möglichst genau zu den Nutzern passen
  • erhöht Wahrscheinlichkeit von Conversions und verringert Streuverluste
  • wichtig für die Bereiche SEA, Display Werbung und SEO

So funktioniert das Targeting

Zunächst einmal muss vor jedem Targeting eine genaue Zielgruppendefinition erfolgen. Sind die Adressaten der Werbebotschaften nicht klar bestimmbar, kann die Ansprache dieser auch nicht seine volle Wirkung entfalten. Das Targeting kann umso feiner und exakter durchgeführt werden, je präziser die entsprechende Zielgruppe erfasst wird. Nach dieser Bestimmung und Analyse kann die passende Marketingaktion und deren Optimierung erfolgen. Online basierte das Targeting in der Regel auf dem Einsatz von Cookies, in letzter Zeit sind weitere Formen der Markierung von Nutzern hinzugekommen. Auf der Grundlage dieser Informationen können dem User die passenden Werbebotschaften eingeblendet werden. Mittlerweile haben sich etwa ein Dutzend verschiedene Formen des Targeting etabliert. Gängig ist z. B. das Content Targeting bzw. Contextual Targeting. Hier hängt die Art der Werbeeinblendung vom Thema und gewissen Begriffen des Seiteninhalts ab. Geht es in einem Artikel um ein bestimmtes Produkt, kann der Advertiser dort auch die passenden Banner mit Kaufanreizen in Bezug auf derartige oder ähnliche Produkte schalten. Das Semantische Targeting geht da noch einen Schritt weiter. Bei dieser Art des Targetings analysiert eine Software die Bedeutung des Contents. Hier helfen nicht nur Schlüsselwörter, sondern komplette Sinnzusammenhänge. Beim Keyword Targeting hingegen geht es schlicht und einfach um vorher definierte Keywords, die eine entsprechende Werbeanzeige auslösen. Darüber hinaus kann auch ein soziodemografisches Targeting erfolgen. Bei dieser Form werden die Anzeigen auf das soziale Umfeld und demografische Kriterien wie zum Beispiel Alter, Geschlecht oder Status der Zielgruppe ausgerichtet. Die Daten werden dabei meist aus Umfragen oder Werbenetzwerken gezogen.

Weitere gängige Formen des Targeting

Beim Behavioral Targeting geht es um das Verhalten des Nutzers selbst. Eine zielgruppengenaue Schaltung von Werbeanzeigen zieht hier so viele einzelne Aspekte wie nur möglich heran, damit ein aussagekräftiges Profil für das jeweilige Nutzerverhalten erstellt werden kann. Dabei können für die Ausrichtung der Werbung z. B. die verwendeten Betriebssysteme oder auch die geographische Lage des Kunden eine Rolle spielen. Beim sogenannten Predictive-Behavioral-Targeting wird sogar noch versucht, das Nutzerverhalten vorauszusagen. Beim Retargeting handelt es sich um eine Sonderform des Targetings, welche auf Kunden abzielt, die eine bestimmte Interaktion in einem Online Shop bzw. auf einer Seite (noch) nicht durchgeführt haben. Das Social-Media-Targeting finden wir beispielsweise beim Facebook Advertising. Die Werbetreibenden sind hier in der guten Lage, ihre Zielgruppen anhand von Profildaten von Usern eines sozialen Netzwerkes auszurichten. Das Geotargeting ist auf die Nutzer einer bestimmten geografischen Region ausgerichtet. Die Art der Werbeeinblendungen bzw. die Zielgruppenansprache richtet sich also nach der Position des Users, diese wird z.B. über die IP-Adresse festgestellt. Das technische Targeting bezieht die Informationen zum verwendeten Betriebssystem bzw. zur Software mit ein. Dies ermöglicht, Display Banner in unterschiedlichen Versionen auszuliefern (z. B. Flash oder nicht). Die Werbung wird in jedem Fall also möglichst zielgruppengerecht ausgerichtet. Es gibt natürlich auch Grenzen des Targetings. Zum einen können sich Nutzer durch bestimmte Einblendungen verunsichert fühlen, da sie sich oft kaum erklären können, wieso gerade ihnen solche Banner etc. gezeigt werden. Deshalb sollten Werbetreibende stets die Grenze beachten, wann die Werbung nicht mehr als ansprechend, sondern eher als störend betrachtet wird, damit keine gegenteiligen Effekte erzielt werden. Vorsicht sollte man vor allem beim Keyword Targeting walten lassen, da es hier besonders leicht zu misslungenen und unpassenden Zielgruppenansprachen kommen kann. Auch Fehlinterpretationen, z. B. des Nutzerverhaltens, sind natürlich immer möglich und stellen ein gewisses Risiko dar. Für SEO‘s ist das Targeting ebenfalls eine sehr wichtige Disziplin, um Content zielgruppengerecht aufzubereiten. Wird das Ganze richtig und effektiv angegangen, dann kann die Click Through Rate erhöht und zugleich die Bounce Rate abgesenkt werden. Diese Kenngrößen sind nämlich rankingrelevant für die Suchmaschinen.