Contact

What are User Expectations?

User Expectations (UE) or user expectations are the expectations that users have of products, services or digital offerings. These can vary greatly from user to user and cover a very broad spectrum (objectives, use, dialogue, information, etc.)

  • Users have certain expectations of websites and apps
  • The UE can be present unconsciously or consciously
  • Is to be considered a significant factor by web designers

The importance of user expectations in online marketing

Nowadays developers of products, services, software or other offers have to know what users expect from them. This means that the corresponding user expectations must be known if customers are to be satisfied and long-term relationships are to be built. Especially online, users have a number of expectations both of the product itself and of its use. For this reason, designers and developers attach great importance to the usability of websites, software solutions and apps. Examples of common expectations of users can be clarity, loading speed, good design, mobile friendliness and the quality of the content of pages. However, if certain expectations or standards are not met, the operator runs the risk of deterring potential users. Users almost always expect at least a simple user guidance and dialogue design, followed by aesthetic aspects and other aspects. The user also always wants to achieve his set goal as far as possible, e.g. obtain certain information or purchase a product. However, users are not always aware of all these demands on navigation, design, frustration-free handling etc. The factors that influence user expectations are therefore quite diverse and affect the most diverse areas (such as information, interaction, problem solving). It should also be noted that developers can always have a completely different view than the users due to their previous technical knowledge. The term User Expectations is associated with other important topics such as usability and user experience design

The three levels of User Expectations

How users perceive websites or apps can be divided into three basic areas. Hidden expectations almost always exist unconsciously and automatically with the user. They arise from the experience of continuous use of websites over long periods of time. As a result, consumers are already accustomed to certain interactions and types of navigation, for example. An example of this can be the offer of payment methods in online shops. Since these shops usually have a wider range of payment options, the user would most likely not be satisfied with a website where, for example, payment can be made with a credit card only. Another example would be the expectation that some kind of "about us" subpage must exist, as is the case with most other websites. The second type of user expectations are the formative expectations. This summarizes all those claims that result from the user experience. An example of this is the almost always existing commentary possibilities on social media, blogs or video portals. The users have thus developed an awareness of certain demands and consequently expect the websites to satisfy these demands. The current expectations always relate specifically to individual pages and their use linked to time and place. Thus the complete appearance with all interaction and control elements, the layout and design as well as the concrete wording have an effect on the current expectations of the visitors. The users know exactly why they have visited this site or what they want to find on it. However, if there are any breaks in this perception, negative user reactions are usually generated and the visitor leaves the website again

Back to Overview Next Article

Was sind User Expectations? Im Online-Marketing Lexikon | RH-Webdesign
info@rh-webdesign.com
  • flexible Projektfinanzierung
  • individuelle Websites
  • individuelle Online-Shops
  • Zertifizierter Lightspeed-Partner

Was sind User Expectations?

User Expectations (UE) oder Nutzererwartungen sind die Erwartungen, welche die User an Produkte, Dienstleistungen oder digitale Angebote haben. Diese können je nach Nutzer ganz unterschiedlich ausfallen und ein sehr breites Spektrum (Ziele, Benutzung, Dialog, Information etc.) betreffen.

  • Nutzer knüpfen bestimmte Erwartungen an Webseiten und Apps
  • die UE können unbewusst oder bewusst vorhanden sein
  • ist als bedeutsamer Faktor von Webdesignern zu berücksichtigen

Die Bedeutung der User Expectations im Online Marketing

Entwickler von Produkten, Services, Software oder sonstigen Angeboten müssen heutzutage wissen, was die User davon erwarten. Das heißt, die entsprechenden User Expectations müssen in Erfahrung gebracht werden, wenn Kunden zufriedengestellt und langfristige Bindungen aufgebaut werden sollen. Gerade online haben die Nutzer eine Reihe von Erwartungen sowohl an das Produkt selbst als auch an die Benutzung. Deshalb legen die Designer und Entwickler großen Wert auf die Usability von Websites, Softwarelösungen und Apps. Beispiele für geläufige Erwartungen von Usern können Übersichtlichkeit, Ladegeschwindigkeit, ein gutes Design, Mobilfreundlichkeit und die inhaltliche Qualität von Seiten sein. Sind jedoch gewisse Erwartungen bzw. Standards nicht erfüllt, läuft der Betreiber Gefahr, seine potenziellen Nutzer abzuschrecken. Die User erwarten fast immer zumindest eine einfache Benutzerführung und Dialoggestaltung, gefolgt von ästhetischen Gesichtspunkten und weiteren Aspekten. Der Nutzer möchte auch stets auch möglichst sein gesetztes Ziel erreichen, zum Beispiel eine bestimmte Information einholen oder ein Produkt erwerben. All diese Ansprüche an Navigation, Design, frustfreien Umgang etc. sind den Nutzern jedoch nicht immer bewusst. Die Faktoren, welche die Erwartungen der User beeinflussen, sind also recht vielfältig und betreffen die unterschiedlichsten Bereiche (wie Information, Interaktion, Problemlösung). Ferner ist zu beachten, dass Entwickler immer durch ihr fachliches Vorwissen eine gänzlich andere Sicht haben können als die Anwender. Mit Begriff der User Expectations sind weitere wichtige Themen wie Usability und User Experience Design verbunden.

Die drei Ebenen der User Expectations

Wie die User Webseiten bzw. App wahrnehmen, kann in drei grundlegende Bereiche eingeteilt werden. Verborgene Erwartungen existieren beim Nutzer fast immer unbewusst und "automatisch". Sie entstehen aus der Erfahrung der kontinuierlichen Nutzung von Webseiten über längere Zeiträume. Konsumenten sind dadurch bereits z. B. gewöhnt an gewisse Interaktionen und Arten der Navigation. Ein Beispiel kann hierfür das Angebot von Zahlungsarten in Online Shops sein. Da in der Regel diese Shops eine größere Auswahl an Zahlungsmöglichkeiten haben, wäre der User bei einer Website, wo man z. B. lediglich mit einer Kreditkarte zahlen kann, sehr wahrscheinlich nicht zufrieden. Ein anderes Beispiel wäre die Erwartungshaltung, dass eine Art von "Über uns" Unterseite existieren muss, wie bei den meisten anderen Internetauftritten auch. Die zweite Art der User Expectations sind die prägenden Erwartungen. Damit werden all diejenigen Ansprüche zusammengefasst, welche sich aus den Nutzer-Erfahrungen ergeben. Ein Beispiel hierfür sind die nahezu immer vorhandenen Kommentarmöglichkeiten auf Social Media, Blogs oder Videoportalen. Die Nutzer haben also ein Bewusstsein für bestimmte Ansprüche entwickelt und erwarten von den Webseiten in der Folge, dass die entsprechenden Ansprüche auch befriedigt werden. Die aktuellen Erwartungen betreffen konkret immer einzelne Seiten und ihre an Zeit und Ort geknüpfte Nutzung. So wirkt sich das komplette Erscheinungsbild mit sämtlichen Interaktions- und Bedienelementen, das Layout und Design sowie das konkrete Wording auf die aktuellen Erwartungen der Besucher aus. Die User wissen nämlich sehr genau, warum sie diese Seite aufgesucht haben bzw. was sie auf dieser finden möchten. Sind jedoch irgendwelche Brüche in dieser Wahrnehmung vorhanden, dann werden in der Regel auch negative Nutzerreaktionen erzeugt und der Besucher verlässt die Website wieder.